North Dakota Bowhunter Laws and Regulations

Passing this Bowhunter license course will complete your online safety education for North Dakota.

Do you need North Dakota Bowhunter education?

North Dakota

North Dakota does not require bowhunter education. You can take this course to bowhunt in states that require certification.

You must be at least 11 years old to take this online course.

You must be a resident of North Dakota to take the online course.


Hunter education is currently required in all 50 states, 10 Canadian provinces, three Northwest Territories, and Mexico. A separate bowhunter education course is required in many of the states and provinces to comply with the bowhunting laws and regulations in those jurisdictions.

The states and provinces requiring an IBEP course are:

  • Alaska
  • Connecticut
  • Idaho
  • Maine
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Brunswick
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Nova Scotia
  • Quebec
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Vermont

Is the Bowhunter Card the same as the Bowhunter License?

The Archery Certification Card is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved Bowhunter safety course and allows you to operate on North Dakota waters. Since the Bowhunter education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the North Dakota Bowhunter License.

Why Bowhunter Safety Education Is Important

Bowhunting is a challenging sport! This type of hunting is done at a much closer range and requires a high degree of stealth, perseverance, patience, and effort. Bowhunters must become adept at scouting, tracking, and recovering game. Bowhunters must master new archery techniques and learn the anatomy and behavior of the game. Before attempting to use archery equipment as a hunting tool, each bowhunter should become a proficient archer. This requires dedication, practice, and good distance-judging ability.


All states and provinces that have mandatory bowhunter education requirements will accept the Archery Certification Card. Likewise, North Dakota will accept Bowhunter Education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)

Need help? Here are the answers to the questions North Dakota Bowhunter students most frequently ask.

Frequently Asked Questions