About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the South Dakota Bowhunter Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Online Course Completion Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Here are examples of penalties for a first conviction.

  • For a hunting law violation that is a Class 1 misdemeanor, you may be fined up to $2,000, imprisoned for up to one year, or both.
  • For hunting without a license or during a closed season, you will be fined at least $250 and have your hunting privileges revoked for at least one year.
  • For exceeding the daily or possession limit, you will have your hunting privileges revoked for at least three years.

For a second or subsequent conviction, you may be guilty of a Class 6 felony and also may lose your hunting privileges for five years.

South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks Department logo