United Kingdom Bowhunter Laws and Regulations

Passing this Bowhunter safety course will complete the online safety education segment for the United Kingdom British Bowhunter Association IBEP Course.

Do you need the British Bowhunter Association United Kingdom Bowhunter education?

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom does not allow bowhunting. You can take this course for bowhunting in states and provinces that require certification.

There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.

There is no residential requirement to take the United Kingdom Bowhunter Ed Course.


Hunter education is currently required in all 50 states, 10 Canadian provinces, three Northwest Territories, and Mexico. A separate bowhunter education course is required in many of the states, provinces, and other countries to comply with the bowhunting laws and regulations in those jurisdictions.

The states and provinces requiring an IBEP course are:

  • Alaska
  • Connecticut
  • Idaho
  • Maine
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Brunswick
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Nova Scotia
  • Quebec
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Vermont

Why Bowhunter Safety Education Is Important

Bowhunting is a challenging sport! This type of hunting is done at a much closer range and requires a high degree of stealth, perseverance, patience, and effort. Bowhunters must become adept at scouting, tracking, and recovering game. Bowhunters must master new archery techniques and learn the anatomy and behavior of the game. Before attempting to use archery equipment as a hunting tool, each bowhunter should become a proficient archer. This requires dedication, practice, and good distance-judging ability.


All U.S. states, provinces, and countries that have mandatory bowhunter education requirements will accept the United Kingdom Bowhunter Education Certificate. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)