Skip to main content

Course Outline

Bowhunter education is not a requirement for bowhunters in Iowa. However, it is required in other states, including Montana, Nebraska, and South Dakota.

Iowa residents and non-residents born after January 1, 1972, must be certified in hunter education before they can purchase an Iowa hunting license. A student who is at least 11 years of age may take the traditional hunter education classroom course, but the hunter education certificate does not become valid until the student's 12th birthday.

In addition to taking the hunter education course (if required), individuals who are interested in bowhunting—especially first-time bowhunters—are encouraged by the Iowa DNR to learn safe and ethical bowhunting techniques and to develop responsible attitudes toward wildlife, other hunters, non-hunters, and the environment.

Only individuals who are at least 18 years of age may take an online bowhunting course.

  • Unit 10 of 10
  • Topic 2 of 9
  • Page 1 of 1